Sulawesi is an island in Indonesia. One of the four Sunda Islands, and the world’s eleventh-largest island, it is situated between Borneo and the Maluku Islands. In Indonesia, only Sumatra, Borneo, and Papua are larger in territory, and only Java and Sumatra have larger Indonesian populations. Sulawesi comprises four peninsulas: the northern Minahassa Peninsula; the East Peninsula; the South Peninsula; and the South-east Peninsula.